Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

" Vivid II "

olosangus

As a complete naval novice, I have found a reference in my great grandfathers service record to " Vivid II " he appears to have been posted there on a number of occiasions as well as serving on HMS Warrior ; HMS Active and HMS Noble.

I am not sure if Vivid II was a ship or some land based station. I would be grateful for any information.

THanks. Simon

As a complete naval novice, I have found a reference in my great grandfathers service record to " Vivid II " he appears to have been posted there on a number of occiasions as well as serving on HMS Warrior ; HMS Active and HMS Noble.

I am not sure if Vivid II was a ship or some land based station. I would be grateful for any information.

THanks. Simon

Go to the "Mariners List". No doubt nautical type pals will tell you where it is.

According to what I found 'H M S Vivid II' was not a ship but a base on land.

"By the way, H. M. S. Vivid II (not eleven) was not a ship but the shore base at Devonport. There has just been a discussion about this on Mariners list - so recently, it hasn't been archived yet."

Vivid II was the RN Barracks at Devonport.

Warrior was a cruiser; Active a light cruiser; and Noble was a destroyer.

Richard

Holmfirth seaman Arthur Lockwood died at Davenport after 2 months training at Vivid I. Have we got two bases here? Perhaps one for training? or do I have a mistake in my information?

Tony.

Most large shore bases were broken down into component parts, so one would get I, II, III etc. at places like Victory (Portsmouth), Pembroke (Chatham) and Vivid (Devonport). Presumably this was for administrative purposes.

For example, I was for initial training; II for those between ships awaiting a draft; III for further trade training.

This would denote which section dealt with his pay and provisions etc.

Richard