Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Battle of Ctesiphon

Guest Voigt

voigt@webspeed.dk

Hi all.

I am a student at the Royal Danish Military Academy. I am currently working on an analysis concerning the battle of Ctesiphon. But I seem to be a bit stuck at the moment. My problem is that I can't find any material on the Turkish Order of battle and their commanders intentions. I know that the turkish forces were commanded by Nur-Ud-Din and I know how many they approximately were, but I do not know the exact komposition of the Turkish Corps neither can I find any material concerning Nur-Ud-Din's battle appreciations.

I have read A.J. Barker - The Neglected War and Maj-Gen Townshend "My campaign in Mesoptamia", but neither are very precise concerning the Turks

If anyone knows of any good links or littarature I will be most obliged.

Sincerely

Jacob Voigt

Lieutenant / RDMA

Jacob.

Welcome to the forum.

In the past I have found the following reference to a book 'Ordered To Die, A History of the Ottoman Army in the First World War' by Edward J. Erickson.

I noted the link for reference but have not actually read the book so cannot give an opinion on its quality - others may have read it though.

Turkish Army WW1

Neil

Maybe this book would be useful. The details are taken from the British Library catalogue.

Title: Handbook of the Turkish Army

Organisation name: Great Britain. War Office. Intelligence Section, Cairo

Series: Battery Press reference series. 11

Edition: 8th provisional ed.. Intelligence Section, Cairo

Place of Publication: London.

Publisher Name: Imperial War Museum in association with The Battery Press and Articles of War.

Date of Publication: 1996

Description: viii,235p,[14]p of plates. ill. ports. 23cm

ISBN: 1870423666. m

ISBN: 0898392497. v. Battery Press

Shelfmark: 99/15408

Notes: "Handbook revised to Feb.10, 1916. Ordre de Bataille revised to Feb.10, 1916"