Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Right Man on MIC

Garraway Girl

Hello again, I'm fairly new to this incredible site, so forgive me if the answer to this is posted elsewhere (possibly right in front of my noggin).

I had a great-grandfather whom I know very little about. His name was Thomas McCaul. He was born in Northern Ireland but eventually settled in Whitehaven Cumberland circa 1907. My Uncle has told me that Thomas McCaul was a policeman in Ireland, but I have found absolutely no evidence to back up his claim. I do know for certain that Thomas served in World War 1 because his twin daughters died in infancy while he was away, and am wondering if my Uncle is mixed up with thomas being a policeman and soldier.

My question is, in checking the national archives MIC, I have come across three Thomas McCaul names -- two of them are Irish regiments (Irish Guards and Royal Irish Fusiliers - privates) the other is a Lance Corporal in the Royal Lancaster Regiment.

What do I need to do to know for certain which one he is?

Amanda

My question is, in checking the national archives MIC, I have come across three Thomas McCaul names -- two of them are Irish regiments (Irish Guards and Royal Irish Fusiliers - privates) the other is a Lance Corporal in the Royal Lancaster Regiment.

Amanda

This is little information to go on.

Ideally you need a service number, but any other piece of family info you can get hold of may help.

You have quite a task here, as the connection with the Irish Regt's is obviously a possibility, as is the Royal Lanc's (Whitehaven, Cumb' isn't too far away from Lancashire).

Do you know if Thomas survived the War?

ie, an entry in CWGC or SDGW may give some clues. SDGW especially as you can usually find out details like "Where Born" & "Where Enlisted".

Sorry not to be of any further assistance.

Mark.

Thank you so much Mark, :D