Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

'Social disease'

Marco

I'm currently looking at the file of a Canadian soldier and have some questions.

On 3-12-1914 he was deducted 15 days pay and admitted to a hospital. Considering what comes next I wonder if this was punishment for contracting a ‘social disease’? Was such an event the only event for which pay was deducted?

On 21-8-1915 his file simply says ‘gonorrhea’. On 7-11-1915 he returns to his unit.

Did the mentioned disease take almost a year to heal (3-12-14 – 7-11-1915) in those times or could he have been a hard-learner and contracted something twice?

TIA!

Regards,

Marco

Marco

Not that I am an expert on sexually transmitted diseases, you understand.....

But, presumably, with no anti-biotics recovery was not a quick process. A year seems a long time, though.

John

I know in the Navy, Submarine Pay and other benefits could be stopped immediately if a men went sick with VD; unless the man could prove he was not responsible for having it!

(It could also be stopped for other reasons, but generally a degree of leniency was shown in these cases.)

Richard

unless the man could prove he was not responsible for having it!

I would just lurve to hear that argument.

"Who, Sir? Me, Sir? No, Sir. Never had sex, Sir. Dunno what happened, Sir. One minute it was fine and the next....."

John

Exactly my take on the matter as well :D

And a year seems a long time to me as well. Was pay stopped during the period of treatment (e.g. 15 days) or was this just a standard time as punishment, I wonder.

I think this chap was a re-offender was would like to make sure. He also got FP#2 for not following instructions from a NCO. Quiet a character!

Regards,

Marco

I would just lurve to hear that argument.

"Who, Sir? Me, Sir? No, Sir. Never had sex, Sir. Dunno what happened, Sir. One minute it was fine and the next....."

John