Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Understanding French trench maps and their references

Biltea

Dear colleagues - 

I am studying the French Sixth Army for the period September 1916. I have their Official History and War Diaries (‘JMO’s’).

However, I am having difficulties aligning map references in their War Diaries with the relevant French maps and hope someone can help me.

An example may help to explain: - the map I’m using is the Plan Directeur, Combles, 26.9.1916 (1/10,000).

The War Diary is that of the 12th Division (part of 6th Corps, in 6th Army), no. 26 N 290/2. An entry on 20th September mentions creating a support line, ’marked by 771 – 2228 – 2133.’

The French diaries normally define positions or lines by these ‘points’ (which I have read were originally artillery target positions). Be that as it may, the Combles map is dotted with various points but of the three points 771 – 2228 – 2133, only 771 appears on said map. So, looking at the war diaries and this map, I have no idea where this line goes!

There are lots of examples of this sort of thing – points (ie positions) mentioned in war diaries but not shown on maps.

I have looked up as many maps I can find in the French sources, to no avail, but of course may have missed something.

Can anyone advise on how to identify positions or lines, mentioned in the text but (apparently) not shown on the relevant map. (The British grid reference system seems much more logical!)

Thanks in advance - Bill

13 hours ago, Biltea said:

only 771 appears on said map

Where is this located (nearest village or preferably an extract posted as an image)?  There are a few maps with 771 or 0771 in the general area of Combles, so let's narrow it down.

771 is just south of Bois Labe Farm, which is itself just south of Bouchavesnes - Bill