battle of loos

Good evening,

I have several questions about the Flieger Abteilung 240:
- where is located the airfield for 1917 - 1918
- what is the shoulder strap of this squadron

Thank you in advance for your help

michel

Mate,

Sorry I am no expert here but I did notice this that may help?

(Westfront)  

aufgestellt am 12.09.1916

umbenannt am 15.01.1917 in FA A 240

aufgestellt am 15.01.1917 aus AFA 240

bis Kriegsende

You will need to translate sorry so I am unsure if it contains what your after

I should add its take from Frontfleiger webb site

If like many others in the GAF, then the shoulder tilte should be  240 with a GAF insigna

Athough most I've seen were on the left arm (240) not shoulder straps, but those were mostly officers.

S.B

Edited by stevenbecker

On 19/03/2023 at 20:56, battle of loos said:

Good evening,

I have several questions about the Flieger Abteilung 240:
- where is located the airfield for 1917 - 1918
- what is the shoulder strap of this squadron

Thank you in advance for your help

michel

Hi Michel,

German airmen kept the shoulder straps they were wearing before arriving at the unit. Some wore the Flieger unit shoulder straps (winged propeller with the number of the Flieger-Ersatz-Abteilung to which they had belonged), others (mostly officers) kept their uniform from previous units replacing the number with a winged propeller without a number.

The badge on the left upper arm sleeve showed the number of the unit. However, I have seen many pictures without these sleeve badges.

Jan

Hi Michael,

I won´t write anything about the FA 240 or AFA 240, as I simply don´t know enough about them. Ask the experts at http://www.theaerodrome.com/forum/

if you don´t find the answers here.