Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Unknown WW1 women's uniform (WAAC?)

glennr

Hi,

I'm not entirely sure whether the women pictured (and thought to be at a NZ camp in the UK - maybe Codford, Sling, or Brocton?), are in the Women's Army Auxiliary Corp. The white collars have thrown me. I thought the WAAC uniform were dark collars. Also not sure what the double chevron signifies, nor the other upper sleeve badges that two of the women wear. Can someone confirm the uniform?

Thanks

Glenn

WW1 unknown womens uniform.png

I stand to be corrected, as I am no expert,  but I believe that only women holding the ranks of Forewoman and Assistant Forewoman in WAAC/QMAAC wore arm insignia of rank on the right arm.

Dave

They certainly look like QMAAC.  Worker's collars brown but Forewomen wore light collars.  The armband possibly blue and white which could signify signals. 

I seem to recall some discussion about Kiwis and QMAAC/WAACs at Rugeley Camp on Cannock Chase following on from this 1919 picture of 1/KRRC Sergeants' Mess there with some WAACs posted by Pal Drew-1918 ...

spacer.png

This was in the Postcard topic and is spread over several pages with much unrelated material in between.  My identification of 1/KRRC begins here

I think there was speculation that the 'dimples' in the hat of the WAAC sitting on the RSM's LHS were imitating the Kiwis who had been at Rugeley Camp earlier in the war.

There are some good zoomed-in detailed versions further on in the topic ...

spacer.png

spacer.png

Could be worth investigating 5th (Reserve) Battalion, New Zealand Rifle Brigade.  They had made a big positive impact on the local community during their residence at Rugeley Camp from Sep 1917 to June 1919

See this post here

Mark

Edited by MBrockway
Added missing picture credit - apologies for oversight

On 13/09/2022 at 07:20, glennr said:

not sure what the double chevron signifies