Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

1/4 Yorkshire Regiment in April 1918

Margosh

I wonder if someone can help please.

I am trying to locate the War Diary for 1/4 Yorkshire Regiment in April 1918. I am no expert but I am not a novice either at finding War Diaries, but in this case the closest I can get is February 1918. They do seem a bit jumbled!

I am doing some research for a relative whose Gt Grandfather suffered a gunshot wound around 12th April 1918. Luckily a pretty comprehensive service record exists for him but I do like to look a bit further and see what the Unit was actually doing on the date in question. I have no expectation of seeing his name mentioned (he was not an officer) but knowing exactly where they were and what action, if any in particular, does add to the chap's story. I am sure it was northern France (he was taken to 2 Austr. CCS which I believe was in the St Omer area although relocating at that time).

I don't expect anyone to do the work for me, if it is a case of plodding through many links and jumbled pages then that is what I shall do. But I wondered if anyone had already been down this path or had suggestions to narrow my searches.

Thank you!

Margaret

April 1918

11th At about 8am the enemy commenced his attack and about an hour later the troops on our left flank fell back and we were compelled to conform with this movement. During this withdrawal units became very much disorganised. Isolated groups of our men were collected and put into a line which was being taken up in L12a and L6c( 36A).