Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Year 9 Revision Notes for Western Front Food Rations

SMG65

I am no expert on what the British soldier ate whilst serving on the Western Front.

The below is the revision notes my 14 year old son has been given on the rations of the British soldier.

In the numerous personal accounts and books I have read on the Great War I have never read anything like the below - meat every 9 days?

Before I declare war on the History Department of my sons school could someone please tell me that I am not deluded and quite a lot of the below is incorrect.

Sean

At the start of the war, British soldiers at the front were allowed 10oz of meat and 8oz of vegetables per day, a luxury compared to what would be provided in the years to come. Parcels from home loaded with chocolate, tins of sardines, and sweet biscuits would be a welcome but irregular source of extra nourishment. For day-to-day meals, soldiers’ options were limited. The size of the British Army and the efficiency of the German submarine blockade grew in tandem, with doubly bad results for the state of British Army rations. By 1916, the meat ration was down to 6oz a day, and later, meat was only provided once every nine days. Things were getting worse, and Tommies were beginning to fend for themselves. There are reports of vegetable patches being established in reserve trenches, and of men going hunting and fishing while not in the front-line, both to pass the time and to supplement their meagre rations. The winter of 1916 saw a major shortage of flour. It was replaced by dried, ground-up turnips which produced unappetising, diarrhoea-inducing bread. At this time, the staple food of the British soldier was pea-soup with horse-meat chunks. The hard-working kitchen teams were having to source local vegetables as best they could, and when that was not an option, weeds, nettles, and leaves would be used to whip up soups and stews