Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Medal Engravements

gouldcx

Hi all,

I am new to this. Recently acquired a DFC medal with 1918 E II R on the reverse. Would E II R be on a medal of this year be genuine? I also have other medals engraved and with medal record to validate the timelines. If genuine where can i get info to validate against the other medals? Apologies if these are silly questions.

Thanks

20220615_160041.jpg

20220615_160056.jpg

Appears to be a miniature DFC to me. 1918 represented the date of origin of the cross its on all of the various reigns crosses.

Miniatures were privately purchased, they were not officially issued to recipients, so you dont have to be concerned about fakes, of which there are many.

If you decide to purchase a full size DFC, get it checked out on this Forum or the British Medal Forum prior to paying for it as there are many & varied fakes on the market & online auction sites.

The medals were acquired due to a family friend passing here in Ireland but his wife is also deceased to find further info on them. I have a medal card but my knowledge deciphering it is non existent. 

Details from medals: S-37280 CPL.W.YARDY.  RIF.BRIG.

Can people have more than 1 medal card or is it more likely that someone has the same name.

Are there specific areas here to help find more detail to his time in war?

WO-372-22-107842.pdf

Think two different YARDYS as two different Regimental Numbers - William was Rifle Brigade (Corporal) entitled to the British War & Victory medals.

William H. was initially RE (Royal Engineers) & the RFA (Driver). He was entitled to the 1914-15 star BWM & VM.

@FROGSMILE  might be able to assist you further as my specialty is not reading/interpreting Medal Cards. he will pick up on this & chime in soon.

1 hour ago, gouldcx said:

Hi all,