Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

German East Africa - Military Railways 1916 -1919

Douglas29

Lieutenant John Rose Lawler, Temp Commission Royal Engineers, 14.11.1916, also Indian Volunteer Officer, Bengal and North Western Railway Battalion

Medals: BWM, VM, IVD

Lawler, a mechanical engineer by profession, awarded a temp commission in RE’s and sent out to GEA on the Military Railways, becoming in June 1918 District Loco Superintendent Central Military Railway.

I am seeking background on the Military Railway operations in GEA during this period and wished to understand the role & responsibilities of an officer such as Lawler. Any assistance greatly appreciated, and/or pointers as to books, research or indeed photographs.

Douglas

Dear Maureen,

Many thanks for the recommendation, having reviewed the book’s synopsis I have decided to jump in an acquire a copy. 
I also found out that there is a 34page file on Lawler at the National Archives & hopefully this might provide some additional insight as to his activities in GEA.

Regards

Douglas

On 19/03/2022 at 15:58, Douglas29 said:

Dear Maureen,

Many thanks for the recommendation, having reviewed the book’s synopsis I have decided to jump in an acquire a copy. 
I also found out that there is a 34page file on Lawler at the National Archives & hopefully this might provide some additional insight as to his activities in GEA.

Regards

Douglas

Douglas

I have the above publication, unfortunately the German East Africa piece is  only two short paragraphs. 

I do have a copy of the History of the Railway Corps, East African Expeditionary Force from TNA in  WO 32 / 5830 which is largely about the construction work. It is 21 pages in length and quite Interesting, although mainly about construction.

TR

Edited by Terry_Reeves

20 hours ago, Terry_Reeves said:

Douglas

I have the above publication, unfortunately the German East Africa piece is  only two short paragraphs.