Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

1907 bayonet ID

Wamfess

I have a 1907 Sanderson bayonet manufacture date 6  18. I can identify all of the markings except the number stamped on the back of the handle which is 4227. Nowhere have I seen a similar bayonet with such a number as shown on the attached photo. I am a new member but a keen collector of memorabilia although my purchase of two bayonets is my first venture into arms/weapons. Can anyone tell me what this number signifies?20211101_232646.jpg.1d91a76233487a97df8ec5d1c3d2cbef.jpg

I'm no expert but assume this is a serial number although none of my P1907 have one. I don't believe in the British Army that the bayonets were ever given the same serial number as the rifle unlike in other nations but maybe this was done in this case because of the branch of the military it was issued to?

Thanks for the input. I have notice more markings that don't seem to exist or get mentioned on any other 1907 patterns I have looked at. They are on the upper handle. F.C. a number 7 and what could be a 2 or 4. The other side appears to have some sort of circular frank but it is very faint. Any input greatly appreciated. Photos attached.

20211102_101310.jpg

20211102_101149.jpg

I believe the ‘circular frank’ is a Canadian broad arrow within a C property marking.

Thanks, looking at it now I am sure you're  right, it's so hard to make it out. And going back to the 4227 number I am thinking ajwdthumper is correct about the rifle serial number. Doing some research, it seems to add up.

I haven't been able to find any evidence that Canada added serial numbers to their P1907 bayonets. Australia does seem to have done it but usually with additional letters preceding the serial number.