Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

ID help please

NCADMAN

This is my grandfather (who I never knew), Arthur Harry Cadman born 1893 in Sheffield. The pictures have only just surfaced and nobody in the family knows anything about his military career, least of all my dad (dementia unfortunately).

Can anyone help ID regiment etc? Thank you.

Screenshot 2021-09-11 093715.jpg

Shoulder title appears to be a strung bugle horn above Yorkshire. Kings Own Yorkshire Light Infantry (KOYLI)? I’m no expert!

58 DM.

• Admin

Yes it’s definitely Light Infantry. And I think I can make out Yorkshire on the shoulder titles. 

King's Own Yorkshire LI.  The only Yorkshire LI Arthur Cadman I can find is a 12/568 Arthur Vernon Cadman. This man seems to have lived in Normanton, West Yorkshire for most of his post war life. If this is him the 12th (Service) Battalion was a Miners/Pioneer Battalion recruited from West Yorkshire and served in Egypt and then F&B but it seems unikely if Harry is a definate name.  Any other clues eg parents?

thank you

He was referred to as Arthur H, or Arthur Harry on the 1901 and 1911 census records. His parents were Albert and Edith. He was probably born 1894 according to those records.  Of course, being from Sheffield, he was in the cutlery trade (scissors).

• Admin

It’s a lanyard to hold a clasp knife.