Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Family history research

lisar

Hi,

I'm new to this forum. I am researching my family history. I'm currently looking into the military history of my great grandfather Charles Hall from Swindon. I was wondering if anyone could tell me from the uniform in this photo if he was in the army/navy ? as I am a real novice in this field. I realise that this is probably a WW2 photo but it could give me a start with my research & also he may have been old enough to have taken part in WW1 . 

Many thanks for your help.

Lisa.6deb3e8f-4dd0-4400-854c-6f1aa0beacf8.jpg.433f1d3cd1f9bf037f0935db3f7b70ea.jpg

Hi Lisa and welcome

You were correct when said this is probably a WW2 uniform, and it is definitely army, and as you say it looks as if he may have served in WW1. There are several WW2 forums, a quick Google may help you select one, WW2.com is one that springs to mind..

His name is Charles Hall from Swindon, do you have anymore information, a full name maybe, birth place and date of birth, when was he married, these details would be a good starting point and help in tracing his military background. 

Thanks so much for confirming that it is an army uniform, I thought as much but wanted to be sure.  Yes I do have his dob, birth place, marriage details etc, I'm using Ancestry & Fold 3 & can't seem to find any trace of his military career, which is strange as i've been able to find out information on other relatives & I have a picture of him in uniform!. I'm not sure which battalion he would have signed up to in Swindon? that would be a good lead.  The only thing I have found is a record of a Charles Hall with the same dob who was a boy on a ship in 1914 & a record of all the ships he sailed on through the years, but that doesn't seem to tie in with his army uniform!.  I will keep searching & thanks again for your help.

31 minutes ago, lisar said: