Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Why did he join the Connaught Rangers and how did he get away with being too old?

Colin M

My great grandfather enlisted on 24th October 1914 at Cockspur Street, London and was posted to the Connaught Rangers, initially at Kinsale Barracks in County Cork, serving with the 3rd and then the 5th Battalions of the regiment for the remainder of the war. He was born in Bow, London and I'm not aware that he had any Irish blood or connections, so I am puzzled why he ended up in an Irish regiment. Was it pot luck which regiment you ended up in or was there a choice? He was a bootmaker by trade and became a Sergeant Shoemaker, so could he have been selected for the Rangers because of his trade?

He also lied about his age on the enlistment form, giving it as 38 instead of 42 and so staying under the upper age limit. All his army records show his joining age as 38 right up to his demobilisation/discharge, so it seems he got away with it. I have read there were no identify checks on names and ages. I realise that the age limit increased to 41 and eventually to 50 by April 1918. Was it common for older men to falsify their age in order to enlist?

Colin M.

24 minutes ago, Colin M said:

I'm not aware that he had any Irish blood or connections, so I am puzzled why he ended up in an Irish regiment

Many non-Irish recruits were needed to make up the Irish Bns to strength.

25 minutes ago, Colin M said:

Was it common for older men to falsify their age in order to enlist?

Yes! There are some remarkable extremes.

Have a read of this old thread, which answers your question on why he was put into the Connaught Rangers

You will see that one reply says