Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help with warship identification

Sgt Stripes

My friend found this photograph in his shed. Can anyone identify its name or class of ship. Many thanks

IMG_20210707_093028.jpg

IMG_20210707_093053.jpg

IMG_20210707_093042.jpg

I'm no expert. It's Japanese, I would say either the Kongo or the Hiei

Sorry, could also be the Haruna or the Kirisma, there were 4 ships in the class, laid down 1911-12, completed 194-15

13 minutes ago, butler said:

I'm no expert. It's Japanese, I would say either the Kongo or the Hiei

Sorry, could also be the Haruna or the Kirisma, there were 4 ships in the class, laid down 1911-12, completed 194-15

Certainly a Kongo class battlecruiser. They can be distinguished by the shape of the turrets and (at least when built) by the grouping of the funnels but I can't rmember how. I will look at my books, but I am sure that someone will be able to identify the ship before I find it.

RM

Kongo, the first of the class, was built in Barrow-in-Furness, and looks to me like the photo was taken prior to its conversion into a battleship sometime during the thirties.

MB

A J Watts book, Japanese Warships WW2, Ian Allan shows three pictures of Kongo class Battleships, the earliest dated 1934.

All have a Tripod Mainmast reduced in height and no Foremast.

So, agree Kongo class before 1934 is a safe bet.

I think not Kongo, as Kongo's funnels were more evenly spaced. There were two major rebuidings. I think this was taken between the end of WW1 and the first rebuildings which started from 1925 onwards (depending which ship).

RM

Both Kongo and Hiei got the 'shoehorn' on the fore funnel. I don't believe the other two got this before the fore-funnel removed, but sources to hand simply say nothing about any changes before fore-funnel removal on them. Agree with rolt968, so this looks more like Hiei. Either way mid to late 1920s.

Edited by The Treasurer
sentence garble!