Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Lady Ridley's Hospital

AngieBenn13

Hi all,

When sorting through my father-in-law's possessions my husband and I have come across a handwritten notebook apparently compiled by a patient at Lady Ridley's Hospital comprising poems credited to various other patients. The majority of the poems are in the same handwriting, though a few at the end are clearly different. The early pages aren't dated but the later ones are 1916 and 1917. 

The content of the poems is mostly focussed on the patients and staff of the hospital, some of whom are identified by name, but usually only a last name. Whilst I have plenty of experience in family history and have tentatively identified a few of the people mentioned, I know very little about the Great War hence joining this forum for advice/help. So far as I am aware my father-in-laws only connection to the Great War is an Uncle who died relatively early on and definitely wasn't an Officer (and no other branch of the family is likely to have produced an Officer) so we're at a bit of a loss as to why he kept the book with some of his most treasured possessions.

I have now been through the book multiple times and made a list of all the names mentioned, staff and patients as well as at least one visitor. Would it be reasonable to post them here? Could I also later post scans of the actual pages and a photograph of the book itself? 

I found the British Academy article about the hospital and the poem they include as 'Lady Ridley's Poem' is one of those in the book. There are also several mentions of 10 Carlton Terrace and Carlton House Terrace so I'm sure I've identified the right hospital.

Thanks for any advice/suggestions and apologies if I've inadvertently broken any rules/conventions.

Hi AngieBenn13,