Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

1907 pattern bayonet questions

MA57

Hi everyone,

I’m extremely new to collecting, I just started a month or so ago. I had a few questions

- how do I tell the difference between an Australian 1907 pattern bayonet and a British bayonet?

- how do I tell the difference between a ww1 and a ww2 bayonet? (1907 pattern )

- is Lithgow Australian and Wilkson British?

- what markings do both British and Australian bayonet scabbards have?

- how do I tell if a bayonet is fake

Thats all. I do know markings on the blade. Thanks

2 hours ago, MA57 said:

Hi everyone,

I’m extremely new to collecting, I just started a month or so ago. I had a few questions

- how do I tell the difference between an Australian 1907 pattern bayonet and a British bayonet?

- how do I tell the difference between a ww1 and a ww2 bayonet? (1907 pattern )

- is Lithgow Australian and Wilkson British?

- what markings do both British and Australian bayonet scabbards have?

- how do I tell if a bayonet is fake

Thats all. I do know markings on the blade. Thanks

The answers to pretty much all of this can be found in the numerous threads on P1907s (if you do a search using the search bar at the top) but to get you started

1) The only difference is the markings on the blade the design/specs etc are the same they are to the same pattern. However there are variations like the absence of a clearance hole in the pommel which lasted longer on Lithgow rifles and various finishes and minor variations were introduced at different times  -- they were however governed by the same pattern and intended to be (and were) interchangeable.

Here are a couple of Lithgow blades to show you the markings

Lithgowinterbayo2.jpg.cea21996dcddd2d9e377528589066b8c.jpg

Lithgowinterbayo3.jpg.0b83b0699c9816d3e46508ac42be6af7.jpgLithgowinterbayo4.jpg.64301611453cfa91a0c2df770ce9851c.jpg