Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Military Cross Opinion, British Medal

medalguy99

Hi,

I am new to this site and I am wondering if can I get opinions on this military cross. I am wondering is it an original medal, could it be one of the faked ones.

Any help appreciated

Thanks Frank

1077798919_Capturemc1.PNG.71e3b9db0e5da785b28a48280e2a1633.PNG

709872594_Capturemc2.PNG.43a5ad73639fc4a993b2684f302831df.PNG

1902292071_Capturemc3.PNG.2837012422626df4c127bbbcb28a2be8.PNG

479444024_Capturemc4.PNG.473e777ed77694ae04c80ccc8f74e87b.PNG

Frank, MC's are a minefield.

The copies (fakes) that are being produced these days some are extremely well made, very difficult at times to tell a genuine cross from a copy.

It is not possible to determine if good or bad from the photos you have provided.

You really need to provide sharp clear closeup photos of the obverse, the reverse, the ribbon suspension at thé ring(this one very important)both obv & rev views. & close up photos of the naming on the reverse of the cross.

Hello Medalguy.

Can't tell you 100% if its a fake as I can't see small details or take measurements from the picture. However I can see two points that make me wonder. 

1.  The pin clasp is not the original, But that could have been changed at a later date, and does not mean the medal is not original.

2.  MC's are silver but yours seems to have a brass colour coming through on the back. This could also be a trick of the camera or lighting.

Hope I'm wrong, and its original.

Ray.

Thanks for the information, I will upload better photos when I get a chance. I thought the pin clasp doesn't look original to the medal.

The brass color could be from the flash from the camera. 

thanks

Has anybody checked whether a Lt Faulkner of the Irish Guards was awarded a M.C. ?