Great War Forum

Remembered Today:

1/4th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers - Training Camps???

CMcDonnell

Hello all, this is my first time writing in this forum so apologies if this is in the wrong place....

I am currently researching my Great Grandfather and the 1/4th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers and their exploits in the Great War.... I have a ton of information on what the Northumberland Brigade did during the war and the battles etc. they participated in.

I am putting a story together of my Great Grandfather's journey from home to France and back again.... 

What I am trying to find out is where the most likely place he would have enlisted and what training camp(s) he would have trained in... I know he enlisted on 9/6/1915

Any assistance or information on the enlistment process and/or training camps would be greatly appreciated!

1 hour ago, CMcDonnell said:

What I am trying to find out is where the most likely place he would have enlisted and what training camp(s) he would have trained in... I know he enlisted on 9/6/1915

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

A good place to start is usually our parent site, the Long, Long Trail.

This tells us that the 1/4th Battalion landed in France in April 1915.

https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/army/regiments-and-corps/the-british-infantry-regiments-of-1914-1918/northumberland-fusiliers/

So if your Great Grandfather didn't enlist until the 9th June 1915, then he didn't start his service with that Battalion, and possibly may not have even enlisted in the Northumberland Fusiliers.

So probably time to share name and service number to see if the collective brains trust here can tell you anything more about his army career - I'm assuming his is amongst the many service records that went up in flames during the Blitz.

Cheers,

Peter

CMcDonnell
11 hours ago, PRC said:

Hi and welcome to the forum :)

A good place to start is usually our parent site, the Long, Long Trail.