Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

help interpreting a pension war card

LESLEY H COOK

69629403_francislhanchardpensionledgerindexcard..pdf

Hello, I am just a beginner to finding my heritage and have found my great grandfather's world war 1 pension ledger card from his time served in the British West Indies Regiment.

I am having some trouble interpreting this card and was hoping someone would be be able to help me or point me in the right direction for an index to cross reference the information to. 

Many thanks 

Lesley 

Hi @LESLEY H COOK and welcome to the forum.

Hopefully one of the pension ledger experts will be along soon, but I suspect most of the references quoted are administrative ones, the meaning of which has long since been lost and none of the related documentation survives.

Hopefully you have picked up that 12169 is his service number with the British West Indies Regiment. What little other documentation I can see does not include his middle name.

Unfortunately like the vast majority of other ranks, his records appear to have been lost when German bombs hit the warehouse where they were being stored in WW2.

One of the surviving documents is his Medal Index Card - literally that, an index card created at the relevant records office early in 1919 to keep track of the issue of medals and related correspondence. This shows he only qualified for the Victory Medal and the British War Medal. This combination means he did not see service in a Theatre of War until on or after the 1st January 1916.

Unfortunately for you, according to our parent site, that means practically all the Battalions of the Regiment, so can't be used to establish which one he might have served. You may be interested in what it has to say about the Regiment. It also has links to other sources of information on the Regiment during the Great War.