Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Quartermaster Farrier in 48th Brigade

JobyA

I have recently been researching my Great Great Uncle who served in WW1 in France between 1915 to 1919 in the 48th Brigade of the RFA. I would like to find out more about his movements but don’t know how to discover his division/battery (apologies if I am not using the correct terminology I am new to this!). He received a MID which I have found in the London Gazette but don’t know if it is possible to find out what this was for. He also previously served in South Africa (1902 to 1905) and India (1905 to 1914). Most of the information I have discovered from his medal cards, his final discharge and the 1911 census which I have found online.  I would appreciate any advice as to how I can find out any more details. Many thanks Jo  

Hi @JobyA and welcome to the forum.

RFA Brigades are frequently referenced by their equivalent in roman numerals, so the Brigade you are looking for is XLVIII.

Our parent site, the Long, Long Trail has this on that Brigade.

XLVIII

This brigade was originally comprised of numbers 154, 155 and 156 Batteries RFA and the Brigade Ammunition Column. It was placed under command of the 14th (Light) Division and went to France with it in May 1915.

• On 14 January 1915 the three six-gun batteries were reorganised to become four four-gun batteries and were titled as A, B, C and D.
  • On 24 May 1916 D Battery left to join 49 Brigade of the same Division, being replaced by the former D (Howitzer) Battery of that brigade which now became D/48.
  • The brigade left the Division on 7 January 1917 and was converted into an Army Brigade RFA.
  • At the same time, C Battery was broken up, with sections going to 46 and 47 Brigades. A Battery of 158 Brigade joined and was renamed as C/48.
  • A section joined D Battery from D Battery of 293 Brigade on 16 February 1917.