Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Scottish Uniform Identification and dating

Blairgowrie 1st 8th

Hi. I am a novice at uniform identification and struggling to identify and date the soldiers uniform pictured below. Can anyone help?

8F4E33CA-D5C8-4CE9-BF08-C85FDB99BBF2.jpeg.b40db5fb559ce8bedbc2096655633d7c.jpeg

Great war for sure. After that it's a bit of a guess...

He  has a 1914 pattern equipment waist-belt and a standard 1903 Service Dress Jacket which has not been modified for wear with a kilt (this is common see my avatar)

It is a standard SD not a "simplified" one which were quite prevalent among recruits in 1914 early 15 and persisted through the war although less obviously.

The collar of his jacket has been modified slightly for a smarter tighter fit (a common affectation)

He's also wearing a glengarry rather than a tam/bonnet so that tends towards earlier...

However he is wearing short puttees hose and boots which tends to put it a bit later in the war  (very early would have been spats and shoes, bit later boots and long puttees)

Bit mixed but if I were forced to guess I think I would go for @1916 rather than earlier - informed guesswork - others may differ!

Chris

Cap badge maybe Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders? Just a guess - tartan sett will probably yea or nay this pretty quick. Looks possible to my uninformed eyes.

Wait - don't know about that glengarry, though. 

Edited by Pat Atkins

Looking at the combination of shape of badge, colour of glengarry, sett of kilt, and hose tabs style, I think he’s probably a piper of the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders circa 1916. In most forms of dress a piper would wear [edit] blackcock feathers, but this fellow is without sporran and so perhaps has been photographed on an extempore occasion in a field environment.  See piper on the far left in the enclosed photo for comparison.

0F8DBEAD-60D6-4C02-BB4B-16A0B84D6995.jpeg.a5165a0a3251d7a2052e67891629feeb.jpeg