Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Albert Edward Mansell DLI

Mansell

Hello, I am new to GWF and wonder if anybody could please help with research for an episode in my Grandfather's WW1 service.

My grandfather, Pte Albert Edward Mansell, (C Coy 8th DLI) rescued his Captain (F C H Carpenter) on Whit Monday 1915. Shellfire had collapsed the trench they occupied and the Captain was hit by shell fragments and also buried in the earth.  This was in the line just east of Potijze / St Jean.  My grandfather extricated the Captain and managed to get him to Brielen.  He survived, though with serious wounds to his arm (shoulder) and jaw.  I am trying to find out whether the hospital / CCS records are available for the Brielen post where Capt Carpenter was admitted.  It seems there was more than one such post in the area but if anybody could help me trace a record of Capt Carpenter's admission / treatment I would be extremely grateful.

In case it is of use to anyone, I have the published histories of the 8th DLI (with maps) the 18th DLI and the 6th DLI.  I would be more than happy to scan any pages from these books or check for details.

Thank you all. 

• Admin

Welcome to the forum

I have split your post off into a thread of its own as that is more likely to attract the attention you need to obtain help from the forum members.

Good luck in your research.

Hi Mansell

I can't help with the Brielen area, but FMP has a medical record showing the admission of FCH (Frederick Charles Hampshire) Carpenter to the military hospital at Millbank on 3rd June 1915, discharged 21st July, GSW Jaw.

His MIC is attached courtesy of the NA. Apologies if you know all this.

image.png.1a17abe59cafc9a777561b4eed857e84.png

Thanks to your Grandfather's courage, Frederick survived, married Gwendolen Drysdale in 1916, had a long career as a member of the Stock Exchange and died in 1960 at the age of 80.

Kind Regards

Derek