Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Wilson Stewart, Aghadowey

RebeccaBarnes

Hi all, This may be a very difficult task but I'm looking some information on my great uncle Wilson Stewart. I have limited knowledge of him other than this... He was born in Keely, Aghadowey, County Londonderry, Ireland 18th February 1897. His parents were John and Rachel Stewart. I have no idea what regiment he was connected with. I do think he survived the war. 

I'm sorry that I have no other info on him. Family stories I have heard is that he was a pilot... this is sketchy as this may not be true. Many thanks in advance for your help.

??? Possibility might be  Pte 12/1732 Wilson Stewart Royal Irish Rifles

Ancestry: MIC and Medal RollS

Edited by BarbaraG

2 hours ago, BarbaraG said:

You may already have details for his brother Thomas.

Barbara,

I'm sure she is very grateful for your efforts but Rebecca has probably seen these details I believe - or at least she's already got quite a bit on Thomas.

She was elsewhere advised to start, and thus has started, a new thread for Wilson Stewart so as not to get lost with Thomas' details in a longer thread. 

So folks, Wilson STEWART here for her please.

He's proving a bit of a challenge!

:-) M

Edited by Matlock1418

There is a Wilson Stewart who died aged 21 in nearby Coleraine in 1Q 1918. Think his Death Certificate may need to be looked at. He needs to be excluded at least

Edited by Mark1959

2 hours ago, Mark1959 said:

There is a Wilson Stewart who died aged 21 in nearby Coleraine in 1Q 1918. Think his Deatch Certificate may need to be looked at. He needs to be excluded at least

Here it is I think:

https://civilrecords.irishgenealogy.ie/churchrecords/images/deaths_returns/deaths_1918/05197/4436036.pdf

1054614231_STEWARTWilson.jpg.546a3331cb4712ef687b18d5f1b83a6c.jpg

Image courtesy of irishgenealogy - with thanks

If this is him: