Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

James Green East Lancs 24029

michaela

I am trying to locate any war record relating to James Green. I have found a dependants Pension Record for him issued to Thomas Green of 30 St Cuthbert St, Burnley. In the 1939 Register, James is a patient at Lancaster Mental Hospital, giving his occupation as ‘ex soldier’. I know he did serve briefly in 1899, in the 3rd East Lancs, 9705. Presumably, the pension form ties in to service during WW1? I have a subscription with Ancestry, but nothing seems relevant. Can anyone help? Much appreciated, thanks.

Where do you get the #24029 number from with the East Lancs ? The medal records seems to show that East Lancs allocated #24029 to a William Wright.

Craig

17 minutes ago, michaela said:

I have found a dependants Pension Record for him issued to Thomas Green of 30 St Cuthbert St, Burnley

Hi,

Is that a source for his regiment and service number?

It’s just that the National Archive catalogue does have a Medal Index Card for a 24029 East Lancashire Regiment, but that is in the name of a William Wright.

In case it was a transcription error I also checked out the MiC via my free account on Ancestry and they have indexed it the same, and looking at it there is no obvious room for mis-interpretation.

There is no MiC  match at the NA for a 24029 Green

Clutching at straws a bit but there is a TF/2409 James A Green, Royal West Kent Regiment.

Cheers,

Peter

8 minutes ago, ss002d6252 said:

Where do you get the #24029 number from with the East Lancs ? The medal records seems to show that East Lancs allocated #24029 to a William Wright.

Craig

The regiment number was on the pension record from fold3

Try 241129 James Green, was 5th Battalion East Lancashire Regiment when he was medically discharged in May 1918 to a home address of 30 Cuthbert Street, Burnley.

There are surviving service records.

Cheers,

Peter