Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help with identification of RGA officers in photo

Colin M

The attached photo is of my grandfather, Percy Stanley Muddell, who served on the Western Front with the RGA. He was with the 122nd Siege Battery until early 1918 and then the 525th Siege Battery until his demobilisation, with a brief posting as Adjutant for the Right Group Heavy Artillery XVII Corps (66 Brigade?) in August 1918. I'm no expert on uniforms, but it appears the group are all officers. Percy was commissioned as 2nd Lt on 29/9/15, rising eventually to Acting Major, and was demobilised in 1919, so I guess this dates the photo between late 1915 and early 1919.

It's a very long shot I know, but maybe someone out there might recognise one of the officers in the photo as a relative or someone they are researching? My grandfather is second from the left in the back row. Any information will be gratefully received. 

Thanks, Colin M.1722942752_PercyinRGAuniformwithunknowngroupofofficers600dpi.jpg.8e52ec9ee56db943d3feff722581f8e3.jpg

In this photo you do not say which one is Percy. There is a Captain seated centre, surrounded by 2nd Lieutenants. None of these men wear medal ribbons which puts an end date on the photo. Percy was one of the 2nd Lts, then photo predates promotion to Lt. That was on what date ?  [edit gazette says 1/7/16] It looks to me like a UK studio photo so I am thinking this is 1915 or 1916.

longLongTrail tells me 122 SB went to France 18/7/16.

Charlie

Edited by charlie962

They are indeed all artillery officers as is evidenced by their plain collar grenades in bronze, which did not have the scroll beneath that was added in the 1920s.  Several if not all of them have the miniature ‘T’ beneath that badge that denotes a Territorial Force (auxiliary army) officer.

5 minutes ago, FROGSMILE said:

‘T’ beneath that badge that denotes a Territorial Force (auxiliary army) officer.