Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Trace my Great Grandfather service records

Cubbyno9

Hi all, please forgive me in advance as I am not very experienced with computer.

I am trying to find details of my great Grandfathers service records. His name is Adam Turnbull Macintosh and was from Glasgow. I believe he was in the Queens Own Cameron Highlanders.

Would anyone be so kind to advise me where to start.  I have checked and there are various sites but all need money to register. I don't mind that but want to make sure I register with a decent site.

Many thanks.

• Admin

Welcome to the forum. The best place to start is reading the How To Research a Soldier in the Long Long Trail website, which is linked from the forum. 

I'm sure the members will be along to help you as well.

Michelle 

If you can work out access to Ancestry (it's free at the moment). There are two pages from his (although the spelling different) Attestation Papers 'Burnt Documents'

There are details for Adam McIntosh b 1896 Living - 19 Rodney St., Glasgow.

Regimental No. 16743.

Married 31 December 1914  Jane Brough McGeddie

children Henrietta Brough Macintosh 28.05.15 and Alison McGaw McIntosh 07.09.17

Just came across more pages!! There are also Medal Rolls - he was awarded 1914 1915 Star / British War Medal & Victory Medal.

He also received a Silver War Badge (SWB).

Edited by BarbaraG

Cubby,

A warm welcome to GWF.

If you are not already subscribing ... 

Access to Ancestry and/or Find My Past is often available [free] to local library members = so worth exploring getting a library membership if you have not got one yet.

Usually access available in-library but in these current COVID days some libraries even now allow [free] access remotely [sadly not all libraries, but you may be lucky]