Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Medal Card Chas Fred Dawson of RAMC 1st West Lancashire Field Ambulance (decipher acroyms)

Gail O

Hello again,

Another of my Great Grandfathers is Charles Frederick Dawson born in 1876, Blackburn, Lancashire to a Master Bootmaker/Cordwainer William Dawson. Charles followed in his father’s profession through to his death in Blackpool in 1943. Although, the family's story is that he served the war (abroad somewhere) as a boot repairer I have no knowledge of which Corps, regiment and indeed whether he volunteered or was conscripted. My first thought was conscription in 1916 due to marital status & age, however, I recently found a plausible Medal Card which I am now looking into (see attached). The medal card reads enlistment on 02.09.14 so, if this is our Charles he would have been 37 years and volunteered.

Via links from this website… https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/soldiers/a-soldiers-life-1914-1918/the-evacuation-chain-for-wounded-and-sick-soldiers/field-ambulances-in-the-first-world-war/
I was encouraged to read that among the parties in a RAMC, Field Ambulance there were 2 BOOTMAKERS and expect that the 1st West Lancashire Field Ambulance would have the same/similar.

So far I have not been able to find any other army record to confirm the Chas Fred of 1st West Lancs Field Ambulance is my great grandfather. Searches via FOLD3, National Archives & Forces War Records all come back to the same card (https://www.fold3.com/image/325310253?terms=chas,fred,dawson). I am aware that many military documents were destroyed in a fire during WWII and looking into what is left on microfilm at the National Archives at Kew.