Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help needed please - Rifle Brigade (Prince Consort´s Own) Regiment Number:S/24364

Bill'sgrandaughter

Hi All, [IMG] 

Hi All, 

I am a newbie to the forum, I am trying to locate my G.Grandfather's war records - I have a photo attached. His name was Thomas Arthur Grubb. He was from the Camberwell area. 

The only record I can find is for Pte S/24364 and is his medal record - I can't locate any other info to confirm it is my Thomas - any one have any ideas??
Details on record:

Private
Company: WO 329
Regiment or Corps: Rifle Brigade (Prince Consort´s Own)
Regiment Number: S/24364
Medal Awarded: British War Medal and Victory Medal

I would be grateful for any pointers.

Kind Regards, 

Jo

Firstly, welcome to the Forum.

Secondly, the man in the picture certainly looks to be Rifle Brigade of the appropriate period. Beyond that you may already know that many service records for WW1 era soldiers were destroyed by German bombing during the second world war. You may however get lucky and if you haven't already I would look here:

https://www.longlongtrail.co.uk/soldiers/how-to-research-a-soldier/how-to-find-a-soldiers-service-record/

Hope this helps,

P

• Admin

There is a POW record for Thomas Arthur Grubb Rfmn S/24364 C Company 2nd Rifle Brigade b.18.3.1878 wife E.Grubb 4 Caldew Street Addington Square Camberwell S.E.5. Taken 30 March 1918

Oddly there is a second POW reference that shows him as 2nd Berks same number; same next of kin different regiment

Hi Ken, 

That's him!!! I know by the address - How did you find that?

I just spoke to a cousin and he was a POW - Oh what was the other regiment please?

• Admin

Medal entitlement, British War Medal and Victory Medal only, means he did not go to France until after 31st December 1915.  Medal Roll confirms his active service was with the 2nd Bn. Rifle Brigade.  The 2nd (Royal) Berkshires is probably a typo that got lost in translation.