Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Edward Hinton Clifton - Gunner (RGA/163200)

bod1611

Hi,

I'm a bit of a newbie in researching relatives in WW1 so it would be great to get some assistance.

My great-grandmother married Edward Hinton Clifton in January 1919 in Bristol.  As far as i can tell, he played no further part in the war.

What i'm trying to work out is how they met - my great grandmother was from Jarrow on Tyneside and Edward was born in Bristol so they lived on opposite sides of the country and she was too young to be in the war effort abroad.  In WW1, Edward was a member of the Royal Garrison Artillery (regimental number 163200) and he does have a British War Medal and Victory Medal from France (i think).  There is a company number of WO 329 on the official archives record but very little else.

Is it possible to trace which company/battalion he was part of and if so, trace whereabouts he was during the war?

I know there was a RGA stationed at Tynemouth which is just across the Tyne from Jarrow so there might be a clue there but else i haven't got a clue where to start.  Any help would be greatly appreciated, even if it's just to say that it's not possible.

Thanks!

Screenshot 2020-07-20 at 17.29.50.png

1 hour ago, bod1611 said:

company number of WO 329

Hi and welcome

The WO 329 is just a National Archives reference. It is for Medal Index Cards, rolls and silver war/wound badges. Another example WO 95 is War Diaries.

https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/browse/r/h/C528

Hopefully someone will come along to answer your other questions

regards

Jon

Edited by jonbem