Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

German general staff question

JasonK

Hi folks, new member here. I'm looking for direction in a specific field of study and I think the topic fits in this section.

What I'm looking for is insight into the decision making and prioritization of the German general staff. How did they come up with plans, eg. Falkenhayn concerning Verdun, and what was important to them?

I'm an operations researcher so this stuff says a lot and is done differently by different organizations. I already know the staff organization, order of battle and "what happened where" stuff... been studying this war for about 30 years. So I'm not looking for yet another book ;-) unless it is filled with primary sources.

I'll give you an example from WW2: the Hitler Directives. These are prioritization documents from top down, and what surprised me on initial reading was the very small distribution--hand delivered to 7 or 8 officers. Make sense that you'd want to keep these things secret and therefore control distribution. But imagine a CEO today not wanting to "share the news" and get everyone in the company rowing in the same direction! There are other directions initiatives could be made, of course, such as a general staff concept sent up for approval, or a weird sideways thing like the Norway invasion which came about in an unusual manner. Also, the Second World War German top planners viewed logistics and news about fuel supplies and requirements from the Quartermaster department of low importance. I have the impression those of the First took those topics more seriously. So that's the flavor of things I'm looking for.