Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Army Service Corps Private George Ezra Sparkes

Sparky660

Hello All, this is my first time posting and hope that I'm not breaking any forum rules.

I have been looking for some information about my Great Grandfather and his military service. My Grandfather was orphaned and he was told that it was because his father was killed in the war. After doing some research it looks as if he survived and was discharged, indicated be his Medal Cards. Are there any other resources other than Ancestry to find any further records? Could anyone shed some light on his Battalion, Regimental War Diaries, more service records?

30850_A001463-02223.jpg

41629_625537_9858-00134.jpg

Welcome Sparky

You will note that he was discharged KR -Kings Regulations para 392 xxva  ie 'services no longer required,not having suffered impairment in service'.

Also that his medals were returned- Kings Regulations 1912 para 1743 means that for 10 years if they remained unclaimed they would be destroyed. There is no note of any subsequent claim by next of kin or even himself. He either disappeared or died.

Google both those paras and you come up with several threads on this forum that explain.

Charlie

just a note that he was born 2/8/93 Aylston, Leicester. It may help others searching.      PS when was your grandfather born ?

Edited by charlie962

Thanks for the quick response Charlie. I had Googled the para 392 and that's how I came to the conclusion that he was discharged. I didn't however know that KR 1912 para 1743 meant that they remained unclaimed.

Am I correct that he was in active service unit 21.2.20?

Whilst his service record doesn't survive, that of M2/183165 Hubert Harry Spooner (also an a/sgt) does. It can help identify his initial joining and posting but should not be assumed to follow a subsequent similar course.

Mobilised 2/6/16 he was posted to Grace Grove Park 3/6/16