Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Samuel Baxter Regiment Question

I'm researching my mums great uncle who is remembered on the Menin Gate. He was Pte Samuel Baxter died 9 April 1917.

On his medal records I can see that he originally joined the West Yorkshire regiment No 21422 and then changed to the York and Lancaster regiment No 34363. My query is, is it possible to find out when/why he changed regiments and also is it possible to find out which battle he might of died in?

I've downloaded some regimental war diaries from the national archives but have yet to trawl through them.

He also had a brother, Bramwell (sometimes misspelled as Bramuell)Baxter who is buried in France. He was in the Worcestershire regiment no 41941 but I can't find his service records or sign up documents. I wonder why he joined this regiment as they both lived in Pudsey, West Yorkshire.

Welcome to the forum. I'm no expert, but to get the ball rolling:

There were many reasons a man might be transferred from one regiment to another once overseas, for example if he was hospitalised sick or wounded, he might be reassigned when fit again. However, in your relative's case, we can see from the medal rolls that several men with service numbers either side of his followed the same route from 9th West Yorks to 8th York & Lancs, so I'd guess he was part of a draft of men transferred together in response to a need for replacements in 8th York & Lancs. It's quite possible there will be a mention of this event in the War Diary, but don't hold your breath - some are more helpful than others!