Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

RNR CAP BADGE

Naval Gazing

No idea, never seen this before, but would be interested in knowing!

Thanks for posting,

Bryan

What is the context of this cap badge image? How do you know it is RNR and not RN or RNVR?

It looks to me like a 'mock-up' for a non-RN use - Corporation Transport?

Edited by horatio2

Maybe a shipping line, merchant marine, looks like 2 crossed swords at the bottom.

Tony

Thank you very much Tony, that makes a lot of sense.

I am very new to this kind of research and appear to have ruffled a few feathers already!

Regards,

Marianne

18 minutes ago, Naval Gazing said:

Thank you very much Tony, that makes a lot of sense.

I am very new to this kind of research and appear to have ruffled a few feathers already!

Regards,

Marianne

Hi Marianne

Is this a closeup of a larger photograph?
If so, it may be worth posting the full photograph, as the full uniform may give further clues.

Welcome to the forum!

Sepoy

Marianne

It is very much a standard Merchant Shipping Company officer's cap badge, with the Company House flag amongst the laurel leaves, stems not crossed swords, except for the King's Crown.  Generally speaking this crown was only awarded to the more prestigious shipping companies who had gained Royal patronage, or Companies who had contracts for carrying the Royal Mails.  I do not recognise this house flag with C.T on it and cannot find it in any of the usual reference books.  In your other post you say your Grandfather was a Marine Engineer in the Merchant Service, do you not have any other records to tell you for which Company he worked?  

Yes, as Sepoy says, a full picture might help and any ships names on which he might have sailed, also his name and date of birth.

Tony

Edited by MerchantOldSalt

Thank you for your replies. I have probably confused matters by referring to the Merchant Service.