Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Copyright and such

GJW

Hi,

I am starting to put together a small book for sale locally. Does anybody know if there is copyright issues If I use pages from attestations or articles from newspapers etc. I assume there is not given this all 100 years ago and that the information is freely available. Just checking though.

Regards,

Gerard

Firstly the law that you need to check is the law as it is in Eire.

Many museums, and companies in the UK assert copyright in material that they make available, either freely or for a charge. That extends from say, the UK National Archives, to Ancestry and FMP. if you download from them you are in most cases making a contract with them in which you undertake to comply with their terms.

I'm not a lawyer, but do some proper research, and whatever you do, the responsibility will be yours. There are several threads about copyright within the GWF, some very informative, but whether comments made are always relevant to  Irish law is something you need to consider. I think your time would be well spent finding those threads rather than our reworking the material.

Keith

Edited by keithmroberts

I did two such books about 8 years ago and I used lots of clippings and photos from the local newspaper.

Just to be on the safe side I e-mailed the editor and explained what I wanted to do. He replied with three comments.

First he said that all of the servicemens photos had been submitted by their family anyway, and so they had copyright of the photos, not the newspaper. Secondly, he mentioned the 100 year rule. But he also assured me that in any case they would never consider objecting to a book that was commemorating Great War heroes.

BillyH.

Hi Gerard,