Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Fritz Duquesne Medals Identification. Help Wanted

ExaltedFrog

Hello and good day everyone,

I have found this photo of Fritz Duquesne, a Boer War-era South African soldier and German spy during WW1 and WW2. In it he has a vast assortment of Imperial German medals and decorations, would anyone be so kind as to help me identify them? I can only make out the 1914 Eisernes Kreuz 1. Klasse down at the bottom of his tunic, as well as the Karl-Friedrich Merit Order (maybe?).

P.S This is my first time using GWF, so I am not sure if this is the right forum for this discussion, please forgive me if there is a better place for this to be posted :D

b.jpg

b2.PNG

He is wearing the Order of Osmanieh around his neck, the Star of the Order on his left breast, & the sash over his right shoulder thus he is Knight Grand cross class.

Regret unable to assist with the other decorations he is wearing.

Thanks for posting,

Bryan

Edited by RNCVR

33 minutes ago, RNCVR said:

He is wearing the Order of Osmanieh around his neck, the Star of the Order on his left breast, & the sash over his right shoulder thus he is Knight Grand cross class.

Sorry for this being a bit of an obvious question, but, just to clarify, the sash and the star are Knight Grand Cross of the Order of Osmanieh?

Yes, I think the Order came in 5 classes, he would be wearing the 1st class but exactly what the 1st class was called I am uncertain.

In the big photo you posted the Star of the Order appears to be just above his EK1.

I think the Osmanieh was the premier Turkish Order at that time period.

The only reason I know of this Order is I have a Commander class awarded to a Victorian RN Captain for the Egypt 1882 campaign.

1 minute ago, RNCVR said:

I have a Commander class awarded to a Victorian RN Captain for the Egypt 1882 campaign.