Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Lockdown Bayonet Show

shippingsteel

I haven't posted anything in quite a long time so thought this may be a good time to try and brighten the day of some fellow collector's out there.

Here in no particular order are 10 bayonets from the GW randomly selected from my collection. Please feel free to help me identify them all.😏

Cheers, SS 

1.IMG_20200411_225456.jpg.68b3953c0e6b612d27901138233d3d78.jpg

Nice set you posted there, thank’s. I am a trucker, no have a Ref. Library to work off of, but the first is a Canadian Ross, the tip, where it cuts up sharply, I think strange?

2nd is, I think, an S 14, German, looks unissued

3rd is British P.07 enfield, always good for collections, 4th is German 98/05 “butcher”  first model with high “ears” and saw backed, originally with leather / steel scabbard, yours has later all steel one but still good. 5th is British P.1888 for Metford/ Enfield , one of the most beautiful and wicked looking bayonets ( my humble opinion) 6th.  Is U.S.  for 1903 rifle, think this model is called 1905, not sure, there are 2 date/model types for basically same blade. 7th.  I think is the. o.1903, using the P.1888 blade, think scabbard is early type. 8th. IsBritish Enfield, for the “ other Winfield’s”. P.14 Brit and P.17 U.S., the 2 slots on grips, I forget off hand if Brit made it U.S., made for Britton ?

9th is what looks like Spanish, for their Mauser rifles, but just not sure. The blade is upside down, which confuses me, just not sure and last us the nice, original British P.07 with Hooked quillion or as some affectionately call, the “Hookie”.  What would be really nice would be to go back and try take clear pics of the markings. For a forum like ours, so many members can piece together histories and as I like to say, bring these pieces of history to life, from where made, to the units and where they might have been during the war, 

Thanjs for sharing 

Steve