Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

POSEN STREET - LOOS 1915

MERLINV12

I'm trying to find the location of "Posen Street", I have found "Posen Alley" & "Posen Station", these are west of Hulluch (NW of Loos).

Looking for "captured German trenches in old German Lines", and "new assembly trenches", which are near "Posen Street", (Sept-Oct 1915), I think I have checked all the usual map sources, but being a relative novice, I may have missed something :rolleyes:.

Trying to find where my Great Uncle (1st Batt Northamptonshire) fell, during the attack on Hulluch, his Battalion were mixed up with the Black Watch & 2nd Batt Sussex, having attacked and found the German wire had not been cut by the bombardment, they retreated back to their own lines, he was shot a few feet from "home" (eye-witness account by his friend from same village, who went out to him, but he was dead).

Hopefully someone more experienced than me may be able to help, especially those with interest in the 1st Batt Northamptonshire, Black Watch, and 2nd Batt Sussex Regiments.

TIA.

16 minutes ago, MERLINV12 said:

That was fast, many thanks.

Is this map correct for Sept-Oct 1915 ??

Map dated 25.8.15.

Flagged on modern map:

image.png.2f1c8f033a4d161d33c20d3eacf9527f.png

Thanks once again, sorry to be a numptie, but on the original map, where do you think Posen Street starts and finishes ??

I have just found a map dated 7-10-15, which is only 6 days earlier that the day I am interested in, it appears that there are extra red lines (trenches) on it.

Could all that extra amount of trenches have been dug in 6 weeks ? 

900920958_PosenStreet7-10-15.jpg.9f71cd16667085e240978326f6e6a484.jpg

33 minutes ago, MERLINV12 said:

Thanks once again, sorry to be a numptie, but on the original map, where do you think Posen Street starts and finishes ??