Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

What or where can I look for information on Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders

Nightingale

So my question is, I want to know more about what my Great Grandfathers regiment did in WW1 he was in the Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders 1st/6th Division. I’m relatively new to this so I would like to find out what they did from day to day, what country's they fought in and if possible, dates and where,  I would love to see photos of the regiment too. So can anyone recommend any reading, no matter what it is I would be extremely interested, I would love to see photos if anyone has any. I’m just looking for anything that could tell me more about the regiment. I would really appreciate anyone taking the time to reply, thanks .

August 1914 : at Paisley. Part of Argyll & Sutherland Highlanders Brigade in the Highland Division. Moved to Bedford.
15 April 1915 : transferred to 1st Highland Brigade in same Division.
May 1915 : landed in France.
12 May 1915 : formation retitled to 152nd Brigade in 51st (Highland) Division.
12 June 1916 : transferred as Pioneer Battalion to 5th Division.
November 1917 : moved to Italy, but returned to France in April 1918.
5 October 1918 : converted back to infantry and transferred to 153rd Brigade in 51st (Highland) Division.

Hi Nightingale,

20 minutes ago, Nightingale said:

I would like to find out what they did from day to day, what country's they fought in and if possible, dates and where, 

In the first instance, his unit war diary would probably be the best place to go. I'm a bit confused though when you said 'Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders 1st/6th Division'. Can you post his name, and service number (if known).

Regards

Chris

Hi johnboy,

I think that would probably be the case, but I thought that it would be worth trying to confirm it before pointing her to a war diary.

Regards

Chris