Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Ernest Fredrick Collins Middlesex Regiment / 1/19th Londons

Beckierosie1984

Hi all,

Newby to this great sight here!

I am a History university student based in Devon, writing a piece on local history which also effects the greater world.

For my assignment I am writing about my Great Uncle 3x removed, who, fought and died in the Great War and is buried in Montigny in France.

Does anyone know how I can find perhaps old letters, memoirs etc? or does anyone else have a relative that served alongside mine by any chance?

I have consulted family, Ancestry and local archives to no avail!

Any help would be greatly received,

Many thanks in advance

Beckie Reed

Beckie

Welcome to the site.  Personal information/reminiscences such as you list are perhaps the hardest to find and certainly, as you have seen, don't turn up on line.  Have you got the basics of his service to underpin his story - his medal record for example which shows he started overseas with the Hampshire Regiment before the Middlesex and then the attachment to 19 London Regiment.  (This movement between regiments would make the personal side that much more difficult coupled with the difficulty of knowing when he moved regiments as his war record seems not to have survived the bombing in WW2 when 60% or so of them were lost.)  The fact that had served no more than a year when he was killed (and may have fibbed about his age when he joined up) and left his effects to his father Daniel..  The war diary of 19 Londons which would show where 19 London were fighting when he was killed is also part of his story.    Perhaps you have all this or prefer to concentrate on the search for more personal info?

Personal history does indeed affect the greater world.

Max

Middle name is given as Frederick in records.

welcome to the forum

local papers are about the only chance you have and thats slim

Good evening Max,