Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

The Times Newspaper - Roll of Honour

Patesian

I've been researching soldiers of the Machine Gun Corps for over twenty years. Many Forum members will know me from the website that I run inviting enquiries about former gunners.

In building a database, I have incorporated information from a multitude of different sources - including The Times newspaper.

At various points in time during the Great War, this newspaper recorded (under the title Roll of Honour) casualties of all branches of the armed forces, both British and Commonwealth, starting with those killed (Officers and Other Ranks), plus Died of Wounds, Died, Drowned etc, etc.  and also long lists of those reported Wounded.  However, lists of the latter suddenly cease, quite at random, and months later, resume.  

Does any learned member know if lists of the wounded were published anywhere else, and if so, where?  I have been using online versions of The Times, courtesy of my County Library service, but I am wondering if War Office Casualty Lists were published outside of the newspaper medium, and if so, where can they be seen?

In the course of this research, I have been attempting to reconstruct a record of MGC personnel who became POWs.  I've crawled all over the ICRC Record Cards, which go some way towards reaching the goal, and also the "Repatriation" lists in The Times.  I acknowledge that this work will never be 100%, but if any member wishes to compare notes about MGC prisoners of war, please contact me via the Machine Gun Corps Research website.

11 minutes ago, Patesian said:

I've crawled all over the ICRC Record Cards, which go some way towards reaching the goal

Now that Findmypast have transcribed a lot of the ICRC cards and backing sheets, (not perfect but very useful) it is possible to select record set ' Prisoners Of War 1715-1945' then in keyword type 'Machine Gun'.