Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Ideas on regiment please

Lois

Hi all

I am trying to identify the man in this photo found in an old family album.

I thought it might be Thomas Henry [William] Holt who was in the 5th Btn Bedfordshire Regiment from 1908 to 1916 and prior to that in the 3rd Btn Bedfordshire regiment from 1894 to 1908. However the badge on his belt doesn't look like the Bedfordshire's.

Any help you can give me would be much appreciated.

Thomas Henry Holt unconfirmed.jpg

I am no expert but his collar dog looks the same as the centre of the regimental cap badge. He looks very young to be a serjeant.

Ah yes, I see what you mean. From what I can tell from the service record if it is Thomas Henry Holt he was made Sergt in 1909, 32 years old.

Edited by Lois
typo

The shoulder title looks like it might be 'Bedford' - The 'F' being at the bottom centre of the curve.
image.png

Craig

Hi the stitching on the epaulet is BEDFORD with possibly a number above, the buckle is the standard type for the period with DIeu et mon droit

Edited by Dave1418

and the stag on his collar is Beds emblem 

more over, why do you think its this chap?

He looks very like a picture I have of my maternal grandfather. I found the image in an old family album mostly taken in Luton which is where my Holt side of the family came from. I suppose an informed guess would be a fair description. 

1 hour ago, Lois said:

He looks very like a picture I have of my maternal grandfather.

Would you like to post that image?

I'm sure there are several here who would be willing to give their opinion as to whether it is likely to be the same person.

His unit is 3rd Volunteer Battalion Bedfordshire Regiment I think, which later became 5th (Territorial Force) Battalion Bedfordshire Regiment after the reorganisation of 1908.  There was also a 3rd Militia Battalion simultaneously until 1908, but I don’t think that was his unit.