Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Secunderabad India 1919

josiejo2212

Hi, I'm new to all this and struggling to find info out about my Great Grandfather. All we have is a silver cup from an Army Boxing match in his name which says the following:

SGT John Boswell

6 Round Contest

Sec-Bad India 1919

I have no idea which regiment or anything else. Can anyone help? Who was out in Secunderabad in India in 1919? Can anyone tell me anythign about that period of time or how i could find his regiment?

Thanks

Jo

Silver cup.jpg

Hi Jo

Welcome to the Forum

What more do you know about him. Have the family any of his medals, where and when was he born, who did he marry

To get you started

india.jpg.a497cd6b01b7ae1508b24ecf22d55895.jpg

Dear Corisande

Thank you so much for the clipping! We know very little about him. There are no medals in the family that we know of.

I think his DOB is 1877 with DOD 1931 (25 December he died but I don't have exact birth date). He was born in Birmingham and died in Kings Norton in Birmingham.

He was married to a Laura Deakin 1876-195.

He had 4 girls one of which was my Grandmother.

He had a lot of brothers and sisters one of which was Albert Boswell (DOB 1896) and we think this is a photo of him. It has (we think) PTE Boswell Rifles on the back of this photo, but again that is all we have.

If you can help me with anything else i'd be over the moon If not thank you so much for the cutting about Secunderabad.

Thanks

Jo

Albert Boswell (middle) Rifles we think.jpg

Thanks for the extra info. To crack this sort of problem one needs lots of clues

This is the marriage

boswell-mc.jpg.8350148cba31b502ebe7a624b411d769.jpg

Name: John Boswell
Marital status: Single
Birth Date: 1877
Marriage Date: 26 Aug 1900
Marriage Place: Birmingham, Warwick, England
Father: John Boswell
Spouse: Laura Deakin
Edited by corisande