Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Dating and understanding uniform on picture

LizC

Hello

I've found the attached photo which I'm told is of a WW1 soldier, Mark Liberty Head.  From my research of this person, he joined the army on the outbreak of the First World War, attesting on 6th August 1914 joining the East Surrey Regiment (4th Batn).  Service number 7073 Rank Lance Sergeant, Corporal Corps East Surrey Regiment.  Now this photo doesn't look like someone in the ranks to me, although I'm not an expert.  Can someone recognise what kind of rank this person is, and if possible, what regiment?

Thanks

Liz

Mark Head.jpg

I agree with museumtom - you do get men from that campaign 1880s that served in ww1 - not many though

maybe someone could check the rolls (say on ancestry) for him to see if someone of this name was in Egypt then

Edited by Coldstreamer

cant see his name in the London Gazette

The one you have found according to the details on FMP was born 1884

interestingly says this - certainly an older chap in ww1 times

This recruitment register: has SR for ‘Special Reserve’ written on the spine. Until the outbreak of the war, most recruits are for the 3rd or 4th Battalions of The East Surrey Regiment. From August 1914 the recruits (mainly older men) are sent to a greater variety of units. There are very few entries for 1915. In this register, details of the mans employer have been added in the Remarks column.

i cant see anyone else with this exact name - maybe his father is in the picture ?

The photograph shows an subaltern officer of the Royal Engineers.  The velvet ‘facings’ (collar and cuffs), wavy line on the pouch belt, waist belt clasp, bullion grenade collar badges, and cocked hat, all refer.

F0D91E37-DFA4-41CB-B741-A5D2CB78C9B5.jpeg

B2F5B3B2-7ACE-44C3-B3E9-9E3D6D1D0192.jpeg

4DFE40AA-209A-47E0-8F1A-987CD59224FC.jpeg

3C67F746-662F-48DE-A6A2-8EB7F22DAE5E.jpeg

Edited by FROGSMILE