Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

HUBERT ELLIS HOPKINS Pte Z/6169

Denise Hopkins

Hi

I am trying to research my granddad's younger brother Hubert who originally joined the 18th bn KRRC IN 1915 underage (born 14.3.1899). He signed up under granddad's name Alfred Hopkins but got 'rumbled' and got sent home in October 1915. He then enlisted in the The Royal Navy Division on the 13.6.17. I have a picture taken from the Ripley & Heanor newspaper dated 17th January 1919 stating that his ship was torpedoed, sank within 4 minutes and that he was picked up by a patrol boat. I am confused as the date of the paper was after the end of the war and no mention of the ship's name was given. I am a novice  regarding research! Is there anyone who can shed any light on this ship etc. Hubert survived the war.

Thanks

Denise

Hi Denise,

Great that you gave his date of birth and number as it enabled me to identify his naval service record - https://discovery.nationalarchives.gov.uk/details/r/D7669051

You can download this for £3.50, look in FMP or Ancestry if you subscribe, or look at it in your local library - in any case it should note which ship he was borne on at the date of the torpedoing.

Hope that helps.

sJ

His papers say SUVA ?

Edited by Coldstreamer

if it is SUVA the log for Jan 19 seem to be missing 

The Navy is def not my area of expertise

courtesy of FMP

hopkins.jpg

Hi

I have just managed to download the same info above. Pembroke 1 is land based as in training so i'm not sure what this is all about. According to Wikipedia the Suva survived WW1 so that ship was not sunk. Is there anyone out there can help deciphering Hubert's service record?

Thanks

Denise

1 hour ago, Denise Hopkins said:

He then enlisted in the The Royal Navy Division on the 13.6.17.

He never served in the Royal Naval Division. He was an RNVR seaman on sea service.