Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Royal Naval Division Engineers

brianmorris547

My interest in 1149 Richard Jones, RND (Engineers) began when I noticed the attached report of his death in Gallipoli that appeared in the Bolton Journal 20/08/1915. He lived in the next street but one to my grandfather, was 18 months younger and both worked at the same Plumbers business named in the report. They must have known each other. 

I have looked at the RND Gallipoli WDs on Ancestry but I have only seen Sappers referred to in the RND Signals Company. Casualties are named but I found no trace of Spr Jones.

A number check on FMP brought up his record under Royal Marines which shows that he was born on 11/02/1889 and enlisted on 09/02/1915 in Manchester. He was born in Daubhill, Bolton and was a pipe fitter by trade. It confirms the newspaper report that he was k in a on 22/07/1915. The card says D Dead which I presume is declared dead.

If anyone can give any further info on his death or on the work of the RND Engineers in Gallipoli I would be grateful. I have tried the search facility and TLLT. I will try CWGC.

Thank you

Brian

EDIT: CWGC just shows Helles Memorial, Royal Marines. I will try and see if I can find out the Unit that A M Connolly was CO of.

002.JPG

001 (2).JPG

Edited by brianmorris547
additional info

Thanks Martin

17 hours ago, brianmorris547 said:

I will try and see if I can find out the Unit that A M Connolly was CO of.

A  tricky one. Major Arthur Matthew CONNOLLY was an officer of the Reserve of Officers of the Royal Marines. He had served in HMS JUPITER early in the war but had been demobilised in March 1915. My best guess is that he was subsequently employed at the Depot RMLI, Deal. Where he was probably dealing with the admin of the men of the RNDE. Hence his signature on the ledger record.

17 hours ago, brianmorris547 said: