Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

21392 Daniel Mcdonnell, RE tunnellers

James123

Hello, 

I know this gentleman was a Royal Engineer Tunneller during Ww1. 

21392 Daniel McDonnell 

Royal Engineers

Is there anyway of finding out which tunnelling company he was in? Unfortunately his service papers don't seem to have survived. 

Many thanks

Could the answer be in his pension records?

This from ancestry:

Pension.jpg.905d61df823dd7f4e5743d3922ea0e21.jpg

21392 a/Sgt Daniel McDonnell, Royal Engineers Tun. Dep. Co., (Enlisted 10-04-1911. Discharged 19-11-19). Awarded Silver War Badge 485595 on 29 May 1920.

JP

Thanks JP, 

I have no idea how or if indeed its possible to find out what company/companies he served in without his service record. 

I've just joined ancestry but cannot find much besides his MID, which doesn't say. I am new to research and ancestry, so I may be missing a few tricks! 

Given his enlistment date he was a pre war regular or territorial and his date of entry 30/08/1914 he was likely in something else first before the tunnelling company. His medal rolls and pension card don't give any clues. You may like to contact the tunnellers site http://www.tunnellersmemorial.com/ as people with specific interest may have him on a company roster. Other thing to do is look at his medal roll at the numbers above and below. Only other information to add (from SWB roll  - he was discharged due to ill health rather than wounds.

Given he suffered some sort illness, he is likely to appear on a sick and wounded list which normally shows a unit.  Brian Morris has been compiling these for quite some time for REs. It might be worth contacting him.

TR

1 hour ago, Terry_Reeves said:

Given he suffered some sort illness, he is likely to appear on a sick and wounded list which normally shows a unit.  Brian Morris has been compiling these for quite some time for REs. It might be worth contacting him.

TR