Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Real or fake?

newnsj

Hi,

I wonder if anyone who has knowledge could help me?  I have been contacted by a person who I spoke to over a year ago on here who says that he has come across one of my ancestors war medals.  Now obviously if it is real it has immense sentimental value but I know nothing of medals and was hoping someone on here could spot if its an obvious fake.  He wants £100 for it.  What strikes me is that the markings on the reverse seem to be engraved rather than impressed, but again I have no clue about this stuff, online some appear very different?

Any help would be really appreciated as it might help stop me making an expensive mistake?

Kind regards,

Joe

Pic1.jpg

pic2.jpg

Looks  ok to me but I am not an expert. £100 sounds a bit expensive. Check on Ebay there are usually plenty of 14/15 stars for sale. Then if others on here agree that it is ok, make an offer. Also check that he was entitled to it.

Thanks he says he came across it so he is not entitled to it, I know I can get cheaper ones online, the value of it is purely that it belonged (hopefully) to my relative and wasn't engraved at Timpsons or something.

alastaircox

thanks I am aware of his history, I have news stories and even a picture of his grave stone in Belgium but that would be trivial for someone to look up and this person knows my research interests (all family based).  does the engraving look right to you because that is what makes me think twice?

2 hours ago, newnsj said:

alastaircox

thanks I am aware of his history, I have news stories and even a picture of his grave stone in Belgium but that would be trivial for someone to look up and this person knows my research interests (all family based).  does the engraving look right to you because that is what makes me think twice?

Yes, 100% correct.

the star is typical of normal British issued stars.