Free downloads from TNA ×
The Great War (1914-1918) Forum

Remembered Today:

Help needed

wedgemondo

Hi. I'm new to this and have a few items that I know nothing about. One is the nice looking tin pictured below. Can anyone shed any light upon it please. It's about 95mm high. Thanks in anticipation

20191006_122220.jpg

20191006_122056.jpg

20191006_122155.jpg

Welcome to the forum.

It is trench art, made from an old (German) shell and a Norfolk regiment cap badge.

Look up trench art or look for some old threads on here about the subject.

Scott

Edited by Waddell
Spelling.

41 minutes ago, wedgemondo said:

Hi. I'm new to this and have a few items that I know nothing about. One is the nice looking tin pictured below. Can anyone shed any light upon it please. It's about 95mm high. Thanks in anticipation

20191006_122220.jpg

20191006_122056.jpg

20191006_122155.jpg

Hi,

Very nice. 

It is a trench art tobacco jar made from a pair of German shell casings that have been cut down in size. 

Here’s one from my collection with a Royal Fusiliers cap badge attached. 

67B3B907-0032-44C4-BFAD-655711AB36C5.jpeg

Edited by GWF1967

Well that was quick. Thank you very much. I have a few other items that i'm hoping her indoors will let me keep. I expect i'll get away with a few small items if i choose wisely. 

Thanks again for the info.

Post #3.

That's interesting trench art. I always thought that Audruicq was a huge ammo depot made up of hundreds of huts, and the site of a huge explosion when a German aircraft dropped some bombs on it.

I didn't think line regiments were there at all. I'd have expected a Ordnance Corps or RASC badge with those dates.

47 minutes ago, Gunner Bailey said:

I didn't think line regiments were there at all. I'd have expected a Ordnance Corps or RASC badge with those dates.

GB,